Missed Connections: Thoughts from Airports

If you’ve been wondering where I’ve been for the past four months, I guess I’ve been doing my job right. Not only have I been hardcore relaxing, but I have also picked up significant speed on my current writing project. It seemed only fair to take a break from blogging while taking a break from school. Right?

But now here we are, again facing the inevitable end of summer. Whether or not you’re still in school, the end of summer is still a transition period. For college students, it means lots of sitting and waiting in airports—which I am currently doing, perched above the crowd in my limbo of Denver. I kind of like it up here on the second floor, above all the noise and the bustle where no one really expects much of you.

I see you, random set of legs behind the pillar.

I see you, random leg behind the pillar.

Being in an airport is special in a way, because you never know how many stories you brush by. I sat next to a British gentleman on the plane who, despite the open book in my lap, insisted on conversation the entire flight. We ended up having a great discussion and occasional debate about writing, literature, and publishing. As we parted ways, he insisted on giving me $5 for something to eat. I never learned his name, but I’ll know him forever as the stranger who bought me dinner.

Even earlier in the day, on the way to the airport, I was stuck in slow, heavy traffic. I was looking out the window, as I do, and all of the sudden I saw a young man in the car next to me making the silliest, stupidest face at me. We locked eyes for one moment, then both burst into laughter. I watched him laugh in the side mirror as we drove away, and that’s likely the last I’ll ever see him.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that life is full of these missed connections and brushes with people’s stories. Many things in life are temporary, but that doesn’t mean they’re not meaningful. Don’t worry so much about whether or not you’ll manage to stay in contact with the people you meet in college—certainly don’t let the impermanence of your situation determine the strength of your relationships. Live in the moment, and find out people’s stories, and laugh. Situations are fleeting. The connections that weave life together are now.

Go get ’em.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Missed Connections: Thoughts from Airports

  1. Katherine

    This is my favorite post thus far!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

