Funny Bone

The weather is supposed to be great this week, and that is manifesting itself in the attitudes of everyone around campus. Even though it barely broke 60 today, there were people strolling around in shorts, dresses, and short sleeves. Everyone is springing out of winter gloominess and anxiously anticipating the joy of true warmth.

Last week, I made a blog post about my top cry-worthy films. This week, in response to the weather, and as a supplement to last week’s post, I’m here with the 6 movies that make me laugh every single time I watch them. Judging by this list, maybe you can see a pattern of what kind of humor I have. Or maybe not. Either way, I hope you will find joy in these films and giggle yourself to tears as I have.

6. The Birdcage

This is one of the rare movies on this list that I have only seen once, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t have a great time. Not only did this movie convince me that Nathan Lane is a comedic genius, but it also touches on some really important issues. I don’t know why more people haven’t seen this movie. I have tried numerous times to bring it up in movie conversations, but I am always treated with blank stares. Do yourself a favor and rent it.

The best scene:

5. Liar Liar

Come on, everyone knows this one. Is it possible to get bored of this movie? I’m not even a big Jim Carrey fan, but this is truly a classic. Aside from tragic side plots (I mean, Cary Elwes’ character did literally nothing wrong and he got kicked out of his relationship because Jim Carrey got his life together for one day), it’s a great film for everyone.

The best scene:

4. The Princess Bride

This is another absolute classic, obviously, and if you haven’t seen it I will likely drag you to the nearest TV and make you watch it, Clockwork Orange style (was that too dark for this post?). In all seriousness, this is another movie that I can (and have) watched over and over without getting bored. It also wins the award for the movie I can regularly quote in my daily life. So there’s that.

The best scene:

3. Monty Python and the Holy Grail

Admittedly, you probably have to have a specific sense of humor to enjoy this one. It’s very British. I mean, VERY British. I enjoyed it as a kid, but I watched it again recently and it was like watching a completely different movie. Suddenly I understood the nuances of the jokes, the dry humor, the parodies of Arthurian legend. If you haven’t seen it in a while, I urge you to try again. If you can get past the crudeness of some of the humor, it’s a blast. And can anyone really resist quoting this movie? “We are the knights who say…ni!”

The best scene:

2. The Avengers

Oh sure, you say, a superhero movie? Is that really number 2 on a list of funny movies? Yes, unnamed stranger, it is. After this movie, I learned that this new surge of superhero films are equal parts drama and comedy. I also learned that Joss Whedon humor is my favorite kind of humor. I did not anticipate laughing as much as I did in this movie, and maybe that’s why it struck me so much. Tell me you weren’t busting a gut when the camera cut discreetly to the guy playing Galaga? And the one-liners…oh, the one-liners.

The best scene:

1. Star Trek: The Voyage Home

To anyone who tells me this movie isn’t a comedy (“It’s a science fiction movie! That’s why it’s called Star Trek!”), please watch it again. Re-assess your decision. I swear I have never laughed at a movie as hard as I did when I saw this for the first time. I’m not even exaggerating. The mix of fanfiction-esque plot and complete dedication on the part of the actors is astounding. It’s a work of art. Everyone in the movie knows exactly what is going on, and they roll with it—that makes it even funnier. The topper on the cake, what makes this film perfection, is of course Spock’s random smatterings of swear words. If I had to list every moment that tickled me, I would end up with a complete transcript of the movie.

The best scene:

“These are not the hell your whales!”

 

So, have you seen these movies? What did you think? What are some of your favorite roll-on-the-floor funny movies? I couldn’t think of an adequate rating system for this list (ice cream didn’t seem to fit as well), so if you have any brilliant ideas, throw them my way. And, as always, if you like what you see and want to see more, comment below! See you next week!

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Funny Bone

  1. Ali

    I love “The Birdcage.” Have you seen the original French version? It’s “La Cage aux Folles.”

    • I haven’t! I’ve heard the music/seen a few songs from the musical, but this is the only version I’ve seen in full. I’d love to watch the original though!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

