I. Love. Seattle.

I don’t know if you’ve heard, but today’s the Super Bowl.

 

Now, I don’t usually go crazy over the Super Bowl, or football in general, unless it’s one of my teams playing. And guess what? One of my teams is playing today.

Get excited, people. The Seattle Seahawks are in the Super Bowl.

Not only has this caused my Facebook newsfeed to practically self-destruct, but it has also, strangely enough, made me love Seattle even more. I mean, look at the city right now.

Image

Image

Image

This is the second time we’ve gone to the Super Bowl, and, man, we’re going all out. We even temporarily renamed a mountain for this event. Even before I left for school, before we even knew we were going to be playing, the city was decked out in blue and green. The whole city is buzzing. The level of community pride is astounding, and, frankly, inspiring. Even from 2000 some miles away, I absolutely love being a part of this community and it’s been so awesome watching so many people come together in support of one thing.

Putting sports events aside, however, in these past few years in Iowa, I’ve really come to appreciate Seattle as a city and as my first home. It’s one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been to…

Image

It has an open-air market with flying fish…

Image

The atmosphere—the smells and the sounds and the feelings—is so invigorating…

Image

The theatre scene is awesome…

Image

It can be both quirky and grand.

Image

I love Seattle. No matter where I am on the globe, it will always be my home. And no matter what the outcome of the game is today, I am proud to be here in Iowa representing such a passionate and loyal group!

Go Hawks!

Image

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

