Fifty Below

I just walked home in a legitimate blizzard. The temperature had dropped since entering rehearsal, and the wind had picked up. As I started toward the bridge back to my dorm, the amount of wind and snow that was blown into my face knocked me off balance; I seriously considered turning back and asking for a ride, sure that I would never make it back alive, but decided to struggle through anyway. If Han Solo could do it, after all, why couldn’t I?

Image

Unfortunately, I did not have a dead tauntaun on hand.

In the lingering grasp of the “polar vortex” (despite that being a horrible name for it), going outside has been less than ideal. I wasn’t lying when I told my dad on the phone that a 20 degree day today was warm. Tomorrow, currently, shows a frightening low of -20 with a windchill of -50. -50. That’s insane. Frostbite is a very real possibility, which is why schools in the area have already been canceled and why going outside for long periods of time is no longer an option.

So, what can you do if you don’t want to face Jack Frost’s wrath?

4. Do homework

As far as I can tell, university classes don’t know the word quit. Since classes are still in session, why not hide in Java House or Starbucks or anyplace warm, really, to actually do all of the work you’ve procrastinated? Heck, while you’re at it, why not just do readings for the next week? The next month? This cold is going nowhere, friends.

3. Watch the entire series of Firefly

I’m not being paid to advertise this show. I just really love it. Plus, I hear that looking at hot people will actually physically make you feel warmer.

Image

It’s science.

3.5. Watch any show, really

If you’re not into the whole homework thing, or if you’ve already written every essay that will be assigned this semester, Netflix is a great way to pass the time. Ask any college student ever.

2. Go dancing

If you have to go out in the cold, at least go somewhere warm. Whatever kind of dancing it is—if you’re waltzing or twerking—it’s sure to provide warmth for at least a short period of time. Plus, you know, socializing. If you can find friends brave enough to make the trek and face freezing eyelashes, dancing is a great way to hang out and work off some Netflix pounds.

1. Hibernate

Sleep is always a viable option. However, hibernation, in this case, doesn’t have to be all about sleeping. If you fear the cold and have to remain locked indoors, at least make the best of it. Drink hot chocolate. Hang out with friends. Send off those emails you’ve been working on. Get writing done. Post on your blog.

At least, that’s what I’ve been doing.

In all seriousness, be safe, guys. If you don’t take the bus (and even if you do, really), make sure to bundle up and keep your ears and fingers covered! Read more about staying safe in frigid temperatures here.

The blog is back in business! I’d love to hear what you think, and what topics I should write about this semester. Let me know in the comments below! Stay warm!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

