The 2013 Awards

Well, 2013 is drawing to a close, and already people around the world are welcoming the new year. As the year wraps up and people begin making quickly-broken resolutions (for example, I hope to resume regularly-scheduled blogging), it’s always fun to take a look back on the year as a whole. Here are my awards for everything fabulous in 2013. These are acknowledgements of things I have discovered this year that have made 2013 memorable. Let me know your top choices in the comments below! Happy New Year!

Movie of the Year: I’m no critic, clearly, because the movie of the year for me just has to be Star Trek: Into Darkness. I absolutely love this movie, and it opened up the entire Star Trek universe for me. It may not be “classic” Trek, as I’ve discovered, but sometimes a movie comes along that just strikes a chord in you for whatever reason. That was Into Darkness for me. It was a perfect blend of character, action, and emotion, especially for a new Trekkie.

Runners-up: Gravity, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

TV Show of the Year: There’s strong competition in this area, since I watched through Merlin and Star Trek: The Original Series in 2013, but the winner is so obvious that there’s no question. TV show of the year for me is undoubtedly Firefly. Joss Whedon cites this show as his masterpiece, and for good reason. Sorry, Sherlock, I have a new favorite show. Firefly is perfection in every sense of the word, and I doubt I will find a more quality piece of television in a long time.

Runners-up: Merlin, Star Trek: The Original Series

Book of the Year: There’s also no question in this category, since this year I discovered what has become my favorite book of all time (next to Lord of the Rings, of course). I read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak for a class, and once I hit about the halfway point, there was no turning back. This book struck me as an extremely poignant examination of the human condition and a love song to literature and life. I had to set this book down for a full minute because I was crying too hard to read the words on the page. The story is such a profoundly emotional experience. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I highly recommend reading this book before making a trip to the theater. A+.

Runners-up: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Divergent by Veronica Roth (though the rest of the series did not follow Divergent’s greatness)

Actor/Actress of the Year: No doubt, this was the year of the Cumberbatch. My love of good old Benedict aside, there’s substantial evidence that he is taking over the world. He took the movie industry by storm this year, appearing as two iconic movie villains, Khan and Smaug (he did the motion capture too, you know), and many other roles. Not only has he made appearances in Fifth Estate, August: Osage County, and 12 Years a Slave (to name a few), he’s also gearing up for the new season of Sherlock tomorrow. Truly, Cumberbatch is king.

Runners-up: Jennifer Lawrence, Tom Hiddleston

The “You Tried” Award: Sorry, Man of Steel, I had high hopes for you. I thought you were going to change my opinion on Superman. Maybe next year, when you also have Batman and Wonder Woman to support you.

Runner-up: Pacific Rim (maybe not a bad movie per-se, but way overhyped)

Netflix Award: Shout-out to Netflix for giving me The Wrath of Khan to watch for the first time. That was an emotional experience I will never forget (see: my reaction to The Book Thief). Thanks, Netflix, for helping me fully realize my passion for Space Husbands.

The Earworm: As much as I hate to admit it, “Wrecking Ball” by Miley Cyrus has been stuck in my head uncomfortably often since I first heard it. Congratulations, Miley.

The YouTube Award: I know what you’re thinking. “The Fox” is YouTube video of the year, right? Wrong. This is it:

Runner-up: 

Greatest Conversation with a Kid: This was on Christmas morning. I told my niece (age 3 ½) that I’d heard Santa and his reindeer the night before. She responded with “I heard Santa too last night! He said ‘ho ho ho!’”

Happy Holidays, all!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The 2013 Awards

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2013 | Stories in 5 Minutes

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

