Long Long Road

This weekend I had the distinct pleasure of flying across the country to my school and moving into a new room. By pleasure, of course, I mean stress-generating ridiculousness.

I’m generally not an overly-stressed person—sure, I have my usual worries and anxieties, but they stay pretty dormant most of the time. However, when something like this weekend comes around, all bets are off. Humans were not designed for the full days of packing and unpacking, trying to shove socks into any open crevices in the luggage and wondering how many jackets it’s acceptable to carry on to the plane.

Over the past few days, I’ve said goodbye to friends and family and hello to others, but this rapid shift never seems to get any easier. I still find myself wandering through the airport alone, wondering what else I could have accomplished over the summer and tricking myself into believing that I have more time.

After waking up at 2:15 am, taking off at 5:30 am, and sleep-walking through airports and airplanes, I finally arrived in Iowa City at 2:00 pm. Then what was there to do? Of course: unpack the storage unit, which took two full car trips and a refrigerator on my lap. Then, after sleeping on my friend’s floor overnight and feeling very homeless, Saturday was comprised entirely of unpacking and trying to make the new room feel like home. This is what we had to deal with:

20130824_110913

The stuff of nightmares.

In retrospect, it’s easy to see where one would be overwhelmed. Change is stressful, even for us returning students. It’s hard having a home in two different places, because that means you’ll always have to say goodbye to someone. Those few days when you’re sleep-deprived and flooded with suitcases tend to stretch you thin.

But isn’t it worth it when you see the people and places you love again, after four months away? Once you settle in, the goodbyes don’t sting so much, because the hellos feel so wonderful.

Here’s my life put together, if anyone’s wondering:

Oh, there’s nerd stuff there. Now we know we’re in the right room.

Everything’s okay now. It definitely seemed impossible, but inch by inch we made it.

It feels good to be back.


Edit: I forgot about the 95 degree weather. On second thought, maybe I’ll need a few more days to adjust.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Long Long Road

  1. I love your posts Chels! Glad to hear how great life is for you (that sounds sarcastic but I promise it’s genuine)!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

